jump to navigation

Review: The Time Traveler’s Wifey 01.09.2009

Posted by Commodore Mendez in Movie reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback
“Don’t make me angry. You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry. Then again you might. Since you went ahead and married me.”

“Don’t make me angry. You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry. Then again you might. I mean, since you went ahead and married me already.”

Movie: The Time Traveler’s Wife (2009)
This movie Quantum Leaps into uncynical hearts; but cynical hearts, not so much.
The actors do well with thin material, and Eric Bana seems distracted, maybe because of the wig he has to wear because he shaved his head to play yet another time traveler, albeit a bald one, in some overrated sci fi flick, and then had to come back and do re-shoots. The director could’ve upped the comic aspects of the situation. The script doesn’t let Ron Livingston make any references to Office Space.
Compared to the great Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, this movie teaches you to beware Romulans bearing gifts.
If William Shatner had directed it, it would’ve been called The Time Traveler’s Ex-Wife.
If Scotty had seen the movie with me, he’d have said, “A genetic anomaly that makes you travel through time? That’s a wee kinder on the engines than sling-shotting around a sun.”
Overall: A date movie with a light sci fi touch, since a movie called The Traveling Salesman’s Wife wouldn’t capture enough of the market share. The best thing about this wedding is that Owen Wilson never shows up to crash it.
SPOILER: Bana’s character apparently spends 20 years in a Klingon penal colony, but you can’t tell from watching this movie.
I give this movie: 2.25 Nomads

Comments»

1. e - 01.09.2009

From what I hear, this is a very kind review!


Leave a Reply

